My Writing Style

When a gorgeous woman asks for you help, one would be an idiot to ignore her. When that woman is Julie Particka, author of the New Adult novel, Fall With Me? Well, let’s just say that I would never say no to her, especially when the word “please” is uttered from her perfect lips.

Image

I could stare in her eyes for hours, my fingers tangled in her hair.

Oh yes. Where was I? I was…distracted.

Yes, questions. You can read my answers while I gaze at Julie some more.

 

What am I working?

I am currently working on a Historical Erotica novella series involving Paul Revere. It was originally going to be in an anthology, but I ultimately decided to withdraw the story (originally a short story) in order to pursue this concept further. Paul, and the other characters in the original story, wanted more. And being the giver that I am, I decided to give them more. I was never a big history fan growing up, but something about making a beloved American Icon a smutty hero appeals to me. Currently it is at three parts, but I could probably do more. It depends on whether I can find a good home for him. Backing out of the anthology was a big risk, but sometimes you have to jump off a burning bridge to learn to fly.

 

How does my work differ from others in my genre?

Hm. This is a tough question. I think what’s different is that I don’t hesitate to wrench out my reader’s hearts. I think tragedy can be very sexy and ultimately, the story is primary for me. As I’ve said before, I view sex as an extra. This isn’t to say I won’t write the hottest sex scene I can, quite the contrary, but I won’t put it in there if it doesn’t fit the story.

 

Why do I write what I do?

She loves to tease me with this difficult questions. Honestly, I don’t think about it much. I write what comes out (no pun intended…maybe). Originally the Paul Revere story started as my other me was joking with one of his favorite authors. Ultimately, she encouraged him to write this story and then I showed up. Who knew my “innocent” YA self was such a closet perv? So, he gets to write the angsty YA and I get to write the historical smut.

 

How does my writing process work?

I’m still developing that process. Unlike my YA side, who is unabashedly a pantser, I am hoping to forgo pants. The big difference is that I have to research the time period I’m writing in. I can’t just pick something randomly out of the air and pretend it makes sense. So there is more preparation. I also plan on doing some outlining before I write. Something my other side is learning as well.

When I get done with the outlines, I plan on writing on a daily basis. How much that entails, we’ll see. I like music while I’m writing, but what I listen to depends on the story I’m writing. It has to fit the mood or I will get distracted. I doubt that means I’ll be listening to Barry White or something like that when I’m writing about Paul and his lover ripping each others clothes off. That, would be silly and cliche.

That’s all I have for now. I will hopefully have more updates on Paul Revere when get further into him…I mean, his story. I was supposed to tag some people in this, but most of the ones I know are from my YA side and let’s just say that I am trying to keep the two halves of myself separate as long as I can.

Smutfully Yours,

-Damon

Leave a Reply

